New future for old police station lets Overleie district flourish

On behalf of the city of Kortrijk, its urban development company Stadsontwikkelingsbedrijf Kortrijk (SOK) is selling the old police station at the Sint-Amandslaan and the villa at the corner of the Kollegestraat to ION, the Waregem-based property developer. ION envisages a multifaceted project that would allow the Overleie district to flourish and thrive.

Extensive complex between Sint-Amandslaan and Diksmuidekaai

The buildings along the Sint-Amandslaan (26-30) were previously used by the local police, up until 2012. The entire plot gives out onto the Sint-Amandslaan, the Kollegestraat and the Diksmuidekaai. The property consists of multiple buildings.
One is the Norman-style urban villa designed by Jozef de Coene, at the corner of the Sint-Amandslaan and the Kollegestraat. Dating back to 1911, this villa and its surrounding garden have been put on the cultural heritage inventory list, and the process of designation for protection has been initiated.
A second building is the former ‘Dr Valcke Medical Institute’. This building, also from 1911, is an iconic landmark in the Sint-Amandslaan. This former hydrotherapy institute, boasting a historical façade and stairwell, has been put on the cultural heritage inventory list.
Lastly, there are two more buildings at either side of the open square at the back of the old police station.

Slow urbanism puts buildings to good use

In keeping with the philosophy of ‘slow urbanism’, the city has opted to put the domain to temporary use in the past few years. This way, the local community has been able to get acquainted with the buildings and explore its full potential. The corner villa has been home to several summer bars, from RaBARber to Villa Tina, PandA and Jardin Bohémien. The former police station has been the venue for several art exhibitions as well as a property market. Over the Christmas period, ‘The Smallest Shopping Centre in the World’ was organized here. This period has shown that the site is suited to multiple functions and should be embedded in the re-emerging Overleie district.

Sold under strict heritage-preserving conditions

Late last year, these buildings were put up for sale, subject to a number of conditions. It was decreed, for instance, that the corner villa is to be preserved, as well as the old Medical Institute’s façade. The internal stairwell and the cupola structure, if replaced, should also be recognizable in the newly built structure.

In the end, ION was selected based on the price and the submitted plan, which was titled ‘Overlys’. ION will be purchasing the terrain for the sum of €1,278,278. It will join forces for this project with B2Ai Human Centered Architecture (based in Roeselare), Ensemble (Kortrijk), and Caan Architecten (Ghent). The landscape architect will be Denis Dujardin from Kortrijk.

Development with a vision

For this project, ION has opted to collaborate with Den Achtkanter, an organization for adults with an intellectual disability. Behind the protected façade of the old Medical Institute, a new building will be erected for Den Achtkanter, comprising multiple accommodation units and a day centre.

Together with the architects, ION has conceived a plan for this project involving several key points.

For starters, the project is to be firmly embedded in the local neighbourhood, so as to contribute to the further development and expansion of Overleie as a lively, dynamic residential area. Social cohesion will be stimulated by complementing the purely residential function of the project with other functions, such as Den Achtkanter’s day centre, working spaces for creative entrepreneurs, and neighbourhood initiatives such as Sunday brunches.

Furthermore, this project involves a mix of classic and innovative housing typologies. In addition to some two dozen accommodation units for Den Achtkanter, the inner area will feature two affordable ground-level residences for families with children. Along the Kollegestraat, several trendy apartments/loft shells will be constructed. And along the Diksmuidekaai, two buildings are planned: one, next to the existing corner building, will house a multipurpose space on the ground floor and about 8 quay apartments, while the other, adjacent to the vacant ‘Lemahieu’ lot, will consist of 3 stacked quay houses.

As per the sale conditions, ION will make sure to respect the cultural heritage. The police station’s façade on the side of the Sint-Amandslaan will be kept, and a variation on the old gallery of the police station will be incorporated into the new building for Den Achtkanter. The urban villa, named “t’Onzent”, will be preserved in its entirety. Besides residences and guest rooms, the villa will also feature workshops/coworking spaces and a coffee bar, so this can become a place for creative entrepreneurs such as interior decorators and designers. ION is currently in talks with a married couple of architects to set this in motion.

The development will also add more green spaces to the Overleie district. Since the project is divided into multiple units atop an underground car park, there is room for a central green square, in the form of a ‘secret garden’ that is easily traversable.

It goes without saying that special attention will be paid to the various aspects of sustainability, by meeting the strictest energy performance and indoor climate (EPB) requirements and by using sustainable construction techniques and materials that are easy to maintain. Furthermore, smart mobility in terms of public transport, bicycle use, and car sharing is a cornerstone of this project.

Timetable

In the spirit of ‘slow urbanism’, while awaiting further planning and construction permits to be issued around mid-2018, ION will allow the Kortrijk chapter of JCI (Junior Chamber International) to use the old police station for its events surrounding the organization’s jubilee year.

Construction will commence in autumn of 2018.

Wout Maddens, alderman for Living and Building: “With ION, we’ve found a partner who believes in Overleie’s story. This project will help this district to thrive through a diverse programme: the partnership with Den Achtkanter, various housing types, creative entrepreneurs and lots of greenery.”


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


also read

Un nouvel avenir pour l’ancien commissariat de police qui permet à l’Overleie de prospérer

À la demande de la ville de Courtrai, le « Stadsontwikkelingsbedrijf Kortrijk » (SOK) vend l’ancien commissariat de police situé à la Sint-Amandslaan ainsi que la villa située sur le coin de la Kollegestraat à ION, promoteur originaire de Waregem. En tant que promoteur, ION envisage de mettre sur pied un projet avec une affectation diverse pour booster davantage le quartier d’Overleie.

Un vaste complexe entre la Sint-Amandslaan et le Diksmuidekaai

Il s’agit ici des bâtiments situés à la Sint-Amandslaan (26-30) qui étaient utilisé jusqu’en 2012 par la police locale. Le domaine tout entier donne sur la Sint-Amandslaan, sur la Kollegestraat et sur le Diksmuidekaai. La propriété se compose de différents bâtiments.
La stadsvilla de style normand, en fait partie. Elle a été conçue par Jozef de Coene et est située sur le coin de la Sint-Amandslaan en de la Kollegestraat. Cette villa, qui date de 1911, ainsi que son jardin sont repris dans l’inventaire du patrimoine. La procédure de protection a débuté.
L’ancien « Institut Médical du Dr. Valcke » est le deuxième bâtiment du domaine. Cette construction, qui date également de 1911, joue un rôle visuel important pour la Sint-Amandslaan. Cet ancien institut d’hydrothérapie, avec sa façade et ses escaliers classés, est repris dans l’inventaire du patrimoine.
Il y a encore deux autres bâtiments qui longent les deux côtés de l’espace ouvert à l’arrière de l’ancien commissariat.

Le « slow urbanism » résulte en une affectation de qualité

Dans la philosophie du « slow urbanism », la ville a opté ces dernières années pour une affectation provisoire. Le voisinage peut ainsi apprendre à connaître les bâtiments et en découvrir le plein potentiel. La villa du coin a accueilli successivement, les bars d’été RaBARber, Villa Tina, PandA et Jardin Bohémien. Dans l’ancien bureau de police, des expositions d’art ainsi qu’un marché immobilier ont été organisés. Durant la période des fêtes, il accueillait « Het Kleinste Shopping Center ter Wereld » [le plus petit shopping center du monde]. Durant cette période, le site a prouvé qu’il pouvait remplir différentes fonctions tout en étant parfaitement intégré dans le quartier Overleie qui renaît.

Une vente qui respecte des conditions de patrimoine strictes

Ces bâtiments ont été mis en vente à la fin de l’année passée. Une série de conditions préalables avaient été prévues dans ce cadre. La villa sur le coin devait ainsi être conservée, tout comme la façade de l’ancien « Institut Médical ». Dans la mesure du possible, les escaliers et la structure de la coupole internes doivent restés reconnaissables s’ils sont remplacés.

Pour finir, ION a été sélectionnée sur la base de son devis et du plan « Overlys » qu’elle a introduit. ION a acheté le site pour un montant de 1 278 278 euros. Dans ce cadre, elle a fait appel aux architectes des bureaux B2Ai Human Centered Architecture basée à Roulers, Ensemble de Courtrai et Caan Architecten de Gand. Denis Dujardin, originaire de Courtrai, est l’architecte-paysagiste pour ce projet.

Un développement avec une vision

Pour ce projet, ION a opté pour une collaboration avec Den Achtkanter. Il s’agit d’une organisation pour adultes atteints d’un handicap mental. Derrière la façade classée de l’ « Institut médical », l’on trouvera une nouvelle construction créée pour Den Achtkanter et qui accueillera plusieurs entités d’habitation ainsi qu’un centre de jour.

Avec les architectes de ce bureau, ION a développé un plan basé sur une série de points forts.

Nous voulons tout d’abord que ce projet s’intègre parfaitement à l’environnement. Nous pouvons ainsi contribuer au déploiement et au développement futurs d’Overleie pour qu’il devienne un quartier résidentiel dynamique et animé. La cohésion sociale est réalisée dans ce projet par l’ajout d’autres fonctions au logement pur, comme par exemple le centre de jour de Den Achtkanter, des espaces de travail pour des entrepreneurs créatifs ainsi que des initiatives de voisinage comme un brunch le dimanche.

Nous souhaitons créer ici un mélange de typologies d’habitation classiques et modernes. Outre le projet de logement de Den Achtkanter, qui accueillera environ 25 entités de logement, deux maisons individuelles abordables verront le jour au sein de l’espace intérieur pour des ménages avec enfants. Des appartements/lofts casco hyper tendance seront construits le long de la Kollegestraat. Deux bâtiments seront prévus au Diksmuidekaai : au niveau du bâtiment en coin, l’on construira un espace polyvalent au rez-de-chaussée ainsi que 8 appartements de quai. Trois logements de quai seront construits à la limite du terrain abandonné « Lemahieu », sous la forme d’habitations imbriquées.

Tout comme stipulé dans les conditions de vente, ION travaillera dans le respect du patrimoine. La façade du commissariat de police à la Sint Amandslaan sera conservée et une variante de l’ancienne galerie du bureau de police reviendra dans la nouvelle construction de Den Achtkanter. La villa urbaine « ‘t Onzent » sera conservée dans son intégralité. Elle accueillera non seulement des espaces de logement ainsi que des chambres d’hôtes, mais aussi des ateliers/espaces de coworking et un bar à café de sorte qu’elle devienne un endroit adapté aux entrepreneurs innovants actifs dans l’intérieur et le design. ION mène dans ce cadre des entretiens avec un couple d’architectes pour réaliser ce projet dans la villa.

Ce développement augmentera également les espaces verts dans le quartier Overleie. En subdivisant le développement en une série d’unités et en construisant un parking souterrain, l’on dispose de l’espace nécessaire pour créer un espace vert sous la forme d’un jardin secret allable.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, il va de soi qu’une attention particulière est portée aux différents aspects de durabilité dans le respect des normes PEB les plus strictes et des techniques de construction durables, tout en utilisant des matériaux faciles d’entretien. La mobilité intelligente en matière de transport public, d’utilisation du vélo et de covoiturage est en outre un point de départ dans le cadre ce projet.

Calendrier

Dans la philosophie du « slow urbanism » et en attendant une planification ultérieure et le permis de construire, ION met l’ancien commissariat à la disposition du JCI de Courtrai (Junior Chamber International Kortrijk) pour l’organisation d’événements durant son jubilé jusqu’à la mi-2018.

La construction débutera à l’automne 2018.

Wout Maddens, échevin Logement et Bâtiment, : « Avec ION, nous disposons d’un partenaire qui croit en l’histoire du quartier Overleie. Ce projet contribuera par ailleurs à l’essor de ce quartier par le biais d’un programme varié : une collaboration avec Den Achtkanter, différentes formes d’habitation, des entrepreneurs créatifs et beaucoup d’espaces verts. »


Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


lisez egalement