Municipality of Houthulst and ION kick off PPS project for ‘leisure campus’ in Houthulst

On 11th April, the Mayor & Aldermen of Houthulst, Waregem-based project developer ION, and the construction company Furnibo from Veurne laid the foundation stone of their PPP project that will be delivered on 30th November 2018 under the name ‘Vrijetijdscampus Houthulst’ (Houthulst Leisure Campus). The launch event will take place some 8 weeks before delivery, on 6th October 2018, allowing the inhabitants of Houthulst to get acquainted with the near-finished buildings.

The leisure campus will be located on the grounds surrounding the current sports hall in the Jonkershovestraat, covering some 7.4 hectares (18.3 acres). It will be a completely new site, where the existing buildings will be renovated and integrated into an amalgam of new multifunctional buildings dedicated to sports and culture. The redevelopment of the outdoor sports areas will include two new football pitches, a football stand including a cafeteria, and two padel courts. A unique touch is that all the buildings and outdoor areas are connected by a red stone carpet, symbolising a lane in an athletics track, cleverly showing the way to the various indoor and outdoor areas.

Public-Private Partnership

In order to realise this campus, the Municipality of Houthulst entered into a Public-Private Partnership (PPP) with Waregem-based project developer ION. The town sold the land to ION for 1.4 million euros, and ION will let the site out to the municipality on a long lease upon completion. “For this project, the largest in the history of our town, we asked ION to develop an overall spatial concept that would lead to functional, high-quality use of this leisure campus.This is an investment for our residents and an investment in the future of our town.Moreover, it is an investment that will contribute to Houthulst’s own identity, its dynamic character and the further growth and prosperity of our town,”comments Ann Vansteenkiste, Mayor of Houthulst.

Renovation & new construction

The master plan for the buildings, the infrastructure, the accommodation and their respective locations has been developed and approved after intensive consultation with municipal authorities and local sports clubs, and in close cooperation with Sport Flanders (Flemish Community), which has awarded a subsidy amounting to 925,000 euros.

The existing sports hall (1,250 m²) and the judo and table tennis halls will be renovated to meet all existing standards in terms of energy performance, safety and finishing. The entrance to the sports hall will be moved to the back, however, because the parking lot will also be moved to the Paardedreef, so it will be located laterally next to the sports hall. A new cafeteria of almost 500 m² on top of the sports hall, sporting an all-glass façade, will serve as the heart of the campus, overlooking the new buildings and the outdoor sports grounds. The new building includes a gymnasium(1,000 m²), a tennis hall(1,300 m²), and a music room(475 m²). The tennis hall is designed in such a way that it can also serve as a multifunctional hall for school celebrations, fundraising dinners, seniors’ events, and so on.

Outside, there will be two renovated football pitches, one with artificial grass and one with natural grass. A new football standwith its own cafeteria, changing rooms, technical room and lavatories will be erected between the two football pitches. Additionally, ION will build two padel courts. Padelis a racquet-and-ball sport for two or four players that can be summed up as ‘tennis meets squash’.

Kristof Vanfleteren, Managing Partner at ION: “The Houthulst Leisure Campus will be a very good reference for us, so here at ION we are particularly proud of our unique collaboration with the municipality of Houthulst.This PPP allows us to underscore our versatility, speed, creativity and multidisciplinary approach, as we are responsible for both the realisation and financing of the entire sports centre and the development of a residential neighbourhood in the town centre.”For this campus, ION has enlisted the help of Veurne-based construction firm Furnibo, the architectural firm A1 Planningfrom Ostend, and the consultancy firm Lobellefrom Jabbeke.

New residential neighbourhood included

The PPP between the municipality of Houthulst and ION also includes the sale of a housing plot. Mid-October 2018, construction will start here on 32 residential units and a green courtyard allowing passage to the Kerkstraat. The plot is located in the heart of town, along the Broeders Xaverianenstraat, and is currently used as KWS Houthulst’s football pitch.

It will be a green residential area with both semi-detached houses (two houses sharing one common wall) and terraced houses, some of which will have indoor garages. Many of the gardens will give out onto a path running along the back, for easy bicycle or wheelbarrow access. In the courtyard, children from the neighbourhood can play and people can relax on a bench. In addition to the residential neighbourhood, an apartment complex will also be erected near the Kerkstraat.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


also read

L’administration communale de Houthulst et ION posent la première pierre du projet CPP « vrijetijdscampus Houthulst »

Le Collège des Bourgmestre et Échevins de la ville de Houthulst, le promoteur immobilier ION de Waregem et la société de construction Furnibo de Veurne ont posé le 11 avril dernier, la première pierre du projet CPP qui entrera en service le 30 novembre 2018 sous le nom « Vrijetijdscampus Houthulst ». Le 6 octobre 2018 se tiendra toutefois déjà un événement de lancement où les habitants de Houthulst pourront découvrir les bâtiments quasi terminés.

Le vrijetijdscampusse situera sur les terrains qui font près de 7,4 hectares qui entourent la salle de sport actuelle située à la Jonkershovestraat. Il s’agira d’un site complètement neuf où les bâtiments existants seront rénovés et intégrés dans un amalgame de nouvelles constructions multifonctionnelles pour le sport et la culture. Les terrains de sport extérieurs seront également réaménagés et comprendront, entre autres, de nouveaux terrains de football, une tribune de football avec cantine et deux terrains de padel. Fait unique : tous les bâtiments et terrains extérieurs seront reliés entre eux par un tapis de pierre rouge qui fait référence à une piste d’athlétisme et qui indique de manière logique l’intérieur et l’extérieur.

Collaboration public-privé

Pour la réalisation du campus, l’administration communale de Houthulst a conclu une collaboration public-privé (CPP) avec le promoteur immobilier ION de Waregem. La commune a vendu pour 1,4 million d’euros les terrains à ION. Après réception, ION donnera le site en bail emphytéotique à la commune. « Pour le plus grand projet depuis la création de notre commune, nous avons demandé à ION d’élaborer un concept d’aménagement total qui a mené à une affectation fonctionnelle et de qualité du campus. Il s’agit d’un investissement pour nos habitants mais aussi d’un investissement dans l’avenir de notre commune. Il s’agit par ailleurs d’un investissement qui continuera à contribuer à l’identité propre, au caractère dynamique de la ville de Houthulst ainsi qu’à la poursuite du développement et de la prospérité de notre commune, » indique Ann Vansteenkiste, bourgmestre de Houthulst.

Constructions nouvelles et rénovées

Le plan directeur des bâtiments, de l’infrastructure, de l’hébergement et de l’implantation a été développé et approuvé après une concertation intense avec l’administration communale et les associations sportives locales, et en étroite collaboration avec Sport Vlaanderen (Communauté flamande) qui offre 925 000 euros de subvention.

La salle de sport existante (1 250 m²) et les salles de judo et de tennis de table sont donc rénovées et répondront à toutes les normes existantes en matière de prestations énergétiques, de sécurité et de finition. L’entrée de la salle de sport sera toutefois déplacée vers l’arrière, car le parking sera lui aussi déplacé vers la Paardedreef et sera donc situé de manière latérale à la salle de sport. Au-dessus de la salle de sport viendra une nouvelle cafétéria de quasi 500 m². Avec une façade totalement en verre, cette cafétéria constituera le cœur du campus, car depuis ce lieu l’on pourra voir les nouveaux bâtiments ainsi que les terrains de sport extérieurs. La nouvelle construction comprend une salle de gymnastique(1 000 m²), une salle de tennis(1 300 m²) ainsi qu’une salle de musique(475 m²). La salle de tennis est construite de manière à pouvoir servir aussi pour les événements scolaires, culinaires, pour personnes âgées, et cetera.

À l’extérieur, il y aura deux terrains de football réaménagés : l’un sera doté d’une pelouse artificielle et l’autre, d’une pelouse naturelle. Une nouvelle tribune de football avec une cantine, des vestiaires, une salle technique et des toilettes verra le jour entre les deux terrains de football. ION aménagera également deux terrains supplémentaires pour le padel, un sport de raquette et de balle à jouer à deux ou à quatre et qui est un mélange entre le tennis et le squash.

Kristof Vanfleteren, Managing Partner chez ION : « Le Vrijetijdscampus Houthulst sera pour nous une très belle référence et ION est dès lors particulièrement fier de cette collaboration unique avec la commune de Houthulst. Ce CPP nous permet de souligner notre multifonctionnalité, notre rapidité, notre créativité et notre approche multidisciplinaire, étant donné que nous sommes en charge non seulement de la réalisation et du financement de l’ensemble du site sportif mais aussi du développement d’un lotissement résidentiel au centre de la commune ». Pour le campus, ION fait appel à la société de construction Furnibo de Veurne, au bureau d’architectes A1 Planningd’Ostende et au bureau d’étude Lobelle de Jabbeke.

Un lotissement résidentiel fait également partie du projet

La CPP conclue entre la commune de Houthulst et ION concerne également la vente d’un site de lotissement. Dès la mi-octobre 2018, l’on débute la construction de 32 entités d’habitation ainsi que d’une cour intérieure verte qui mène à la Kerkstraat. Il s’agit du site situé à la Broeders Xaverianenstraat, l’actuel terrain de football de KWS Houthulst au cœur de la commune.

Ceci deviendra une cité-jardin qui comprendra des constructions mitoyennes (deux habitations semi-individuelles avec un mur mitoyen) ainsi que des habitations continues accompagnées, pour certaines, d’un garage. De nombreux jardins sont accessibles par l’arrière via une allée. Ils sont donc aussi facilement accessibles à vélo. La cour intérieure appelle les enfants du quartier à jouer et ses bancs invitent les habitants à se détendre. Outre le lotissement, un complexe d’appartements sera également construit à hauteur de la Kerkstraat.


Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


lisez egalement