The city of Turnhout and ION go for ‘smart’ mobility with new cambio station in Niefhout

The city of Turnhout and project developer ION have decided to structurally integrate a car sharing station in a new housing development in Niefhout, the first time this has ever been done in Belgium. This way, the city council and the project developer make a statement by opting for sustainable mobility. With a starter package, new inhabitants of the development get access to the car sharing system, making the purchase of a (second) car unnecessary.

The city of Turnhout and ION will work together with car sharing service cambio Vlaanderen.

Niefhout is a new housing development on the former FORESCO site between the Guldensporenlei and the Diksmuidestraat.

Cheaper and less hassle

Car sharing has many advantages. Individual users are offered an alternative to using their own car. Not only is opting for car sharing cheaper for those who don’t use their car very often (driving less than 10,000 kilometres a year), it also takes away a lot of hassle (no paperwork for the insurance, no maintenance…).

Fewer parking problems

The city also benefits from car sharing. “Every shared car takes 13 privately owned cars off our streets. That way, car sharing helps solve our city’s parking problems. In addition, cambio users more often take their bike or make use of public transport”, says councillor Marc Boogers, responsible for mobility.

Car sharing in housing development regulations

Because of this win-win situation, the city of Turnhout has structurally embedded car sharing in the development regulations for Niefhout. Specifically, project developer ION commits to providing a car sharing station for at least one shared car and promoting it among the inhabitants of the new development.

Pioneers in Belgium

With this structural measure, the city of Turnhout plays a pioneering role in Belgium. Never before has the concept of car sharing been structurally integrated in the permit procedure of a new housing development in this way.

The sixth cambio car in Turnhout is on its way

For the practical implementation and on-site organisation, ION closed a deal with car sharing company cambio. This organisation is already active in Turnhout with five shared cambio cars, distributed over five stations.

The extra station in Niefhout will be integrated in this offer. This means the 150 other cambio users in Turnhout will also be able to make use of these cars. An introduction package will give new inhabitants of the development the chance to discover car sharing.

Focus on ‘smart’ mobility

The innovative choice to structurally integrate car sharing in this housing project combined with its location close to Turnhout station and the city centre, ensures that the focus of the project is on ‘smart’ mobility (public transport, biking, car sharing).

That focus is in line with Slim Turnhout’s vision, which also encompasses the new housing development of Niefhout. Slim Turnhout is a cooperation between the city of Turnhout, ION and PMV, an independent investment company. Together, they will transform the area around Turnhout’s rail station into a new neighbourhood allowing for ‘smart’ living and working to develop.

About cambio

Cambio car sharing is a flexible scheme that provides cars day and night on several locations in the city (for both individuals and for organisations and companies). The cars can be booked in advance and collected at one of the car sharing stations. How much you pay, depends on how much you use the car (time and distance). As a cambio user, you also have access to all the other cars in other cambio cities in Belgium.

More information

For more information on cambio car sharing, please call cambio on +32 70 222 292 or visit www.cambio.be.

For more information on Niefhout, please visit www.niefhout.be.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


also read

La ville de Turnhout et ION optent pour la mobilité « intelligente » avec une nouvelle station cambio à Niefhout

La ville de Turnhout et le promoteur immobilier ION intègrent structurellement la nouvelle station pour voitures partagées dans le nouveau quartier Niefhout, une véritable première belge. L’administration communale et le promoteur immobilier optent ainsi résolument pour une mobilité durable. Un kit de démarrage permet aux nouveaux résidents du quartier d’accéder gratuitement au système de voitures partagées et d’éviter ainsi l’achat d’un (deuxième) véhicule.

Pour ce projet, la ville de Turnhout et ION collaborent avec le fournisseur de voitures partagées cambio Vlaanderen.

Le nouveau quartier Niefhout sera construit sur le terrain de l’ancienne entreprise FORESCO, situé entre la Guldensporenlei et la Diksmuidestraat.

Plus abordable et moins de paperasses

Le partage de voiture offre de nombreux avantages. Les utilisateurs individuels disposent d’une alternative au propre véhicule. Le partage de voiture présente non seulement un avantage financier pour le conducteur qui parcourt un nombre limité de kilomètres (moins de 10 000 km par an), l’utilisateur cambio se voit en plus débarrasser de toutes les paperasses (pas d’administration pour l’assurance, plus d’entretien, etc.).

La pression sur le stationnement diminue

La ville de Turnhout sort également gagnante de cette histoire. « Chaque voiture partagée substitue jusqu’à 13 voitures privées. Le partage de voiture permet ainsi de réduire la pression sur le stationnement dans notre ville. De plus, les utilisateurs de cambio prennent plus souvent le vélo et les transports en commun, » explique Marc Boogers, échevin de la mobilité.

Le partage de voiture repris dans les prescriptions de lotissement

Avec cette situation gagnant-gagnant, la ville de Turnhout a structurellement ancré le partage de voiture dans les prescriptions de lotissement du quartier Niefhout. Concrètement, le promoteur immobilier ION s’engage à aménager une station pour voitures partagées offrant de la place à au moins une voiture partagée et à en promouvoir l’emploi auprès des résidents de ce nouveau quartier.

Précurseurs en Belgique

Avec cette mesure structurelle, la ville de Turnhout endosse un rôle de précurseur en Belgique. Jamais auparavant, le concept du partage de voiture fut intégré d’une telle manière structurelle dans les procédures de permis d’un nouveau quartier résidentiel.

Place à la sixième voiture cambio à Turnhout

Pour le déroulement pratique et l’organisation sur le terrain, ION a conclu un accord avec cambio carsharing. Cette organisation est déjà active à Turnhout avec cinq voitures partagées réparties sur cinq stations différentes.

La station supplémentaire à Niefhout est intégrée dans cette offre. Les quelque 150 autres utilisateurs de cambio à Turnhout peuvent ainsi eux aussi utiliser ces voitures. Le kit de démarrage permet en outre aux nouveaux résidents du quartier de se familiariser avec le concept.

L’accent mis sur la mobilité ‘intelligente’

Le choix innovant d’intégrer structurellement le partage de voiture dans un projet résidentiel assure, en combinaison avec la proximité de la gare de Turnhout et du centre-ville, que l’accent du projet est entre autres mis sur la mobilité « intelligente » (les transports en commun, le vélo, le partage de voiture).

Cette approche est en phase avec la vision de Slim Turnhout dans laquelle s’inscrit le nouveau quartier résidentiel de Niefhout. Slim Turnhout consiste en une collaboration entre la ville de Turnhout, ION et PMV. Ensemble, ils transformeront dans les années à venir les abords de la gare de Turnhout en un nouveau quartier où le logement et le travail « intelligents » se marieront.

À propos de cambio

Cambio carsharing est une formule flexible qui permet de jour et de nuit d’utiliser des voitures partagées stationnées à différents endroits dans la ville, disponibles tant pour les clients particuliers que pour les organisations et les entreprises. Les voitures peuvent être réservées à l’un des emplacements. Les tarifs dépendent de l’usage (durée et kilomètres parcourus). De plus, en tant qu’utilisateur, vous avez également accès à tous les véhicules dans les autres villes cambio en Belgique.

En savoir plus

Pour de plus amples informations concernant cambio carsharing, appelez le 070 222 292 ou visitez www.cambio.be.

Pour de plus amples informations concernant Niefhout, visitez www.niefhout.be.


Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


lisez egalement