Joint venture for Turnhout district heating network

A joint venture agreement has been signed between Turnhout town council, land developer Slim Turnhout, project developer ION, heating network operator Eandis and heating producer and supplier Veolia to develop a district heating system in the Niefhout neighbourhood. The agreement was signed in the presence of the Flemish Minister for Urban Policy, Liesbeth Homans. It will be the first district heating system in the Campine region. The aim is for the partners to join forces to approach the issue of sustainable district heating in the region as effectively as possible. IVEKA and Eandis are eager to contribute their efforts to the project.

IVEKA, Eandis and district heating
The technology behind district heating networks is closely related to that used for the gas supply. IVEKA and Eandis have the knowledge and manpower at hand to conduct research into heating, support the design and installation of the infrastructure, provide connections to the district heating network for the heat sources and consumers and later to guarantee the operation of the installations all the way to the heat exchanger in the customer’s home. ‘All this fits within IVEKA and Eandis’ role in taking the burden off local councils in terms of their duty to provide energy in public property,’ says Paul Gistelinck, director of Heating at Eandis.

Smart, affordable energy
Along with its partners ION and PMV, Turnhout town council intends to use the Slim Turnhout project to develop a new neighbourhood on old industrial sites that offers possibilities for smart living and working. ‘Our focus lies on modernisation and sustainability. We are putting that into practice here by opting for an innovative technology that provides sustainable energy,’ says Kristof Vanfleteren of project developer ION with great enthusiasm.
The signing of this joint venture is a sign of the trust that the town council and the other project partners place in the distribution net operator as a partner and point of contact.

Targeted investment
Eandis has developed a thorough preparatory study in cooperation with all its partners to come up with a profitable business case for this project. The potential customer zones in Turnhout have been mapped out. The customers are there, and all the partners have the ambition to turn this project into a true success story. By growing step by step, we are working towards a successful district heating network, a more sustainable energy supply and increased energy efficiency in Turnhout.

Sustainable energy for more than a quarter of Turnhout households
In the spring of 2016, the first residents of Niefhout will already be able to benefit from their connection to the district heating network. However, ambitions clearly extend further than the area surrounding the railway station.
‘By rolling out the district heating network to other areas of Turnhout in the future, we will be able to reduce CO2 emissions in our town,’ explains the mayor, Eric Vos. ‘This is why we want to offer around 5000 Turnhout families – more than a quarter, in fact – sustainable and affordable heating through the district heating network over time’, he adds.

Warmly recommended
District heating is highly promising technology. It combines ‘comfortable heating’ with maximum energy efficiency. In turn, this energy efficiency helps to reduce CO2 emissions.
The energy efficiency of district heating networks is also an important factor in the profitability of heating projects. Success is most likely in projects where ‘ecology’ and ‘economy’ go hand in hand.
District heating networks have the flexibility to switch to the most cost-effective heat source at any given time, without requiring changes to the underlying network itself. What is more, district heating networks are suitable for both household and industrial use. The combination of possibilities is an advantage when calculating the ‘potential yield’ of investment projects.
District heating networks have already been developed in many European countries: the technology is not new. The investment climate for district heating networks in Flanders is also favourable. This is why IVEKA and Eandis are eager to start working on creating district heating networks in the region.

www.niefhout.be


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


also read

Collaboration pour le réseau de chaleur à Turnhout

La Ville de Turnhout, le lotisseur Slim Turnhout, le promoteur immobilier ION, le gestionnaire de réseau de chaleur Eandis et le producteur et fournisseur de chaleur Veolia ont signé un accord de collaboration pour le développement d’un réseau de chaleur au sein du quartier Niefhout à Turnhout, en présence de la ministre flamande Homans chargée de la politique de la ville. Il s’agit du premier réseau de chaleur en Campine. L’objectif est d’unir les forces des différents partenaires afin de se pencher concrètement sur la création de réseaux de chaleur durables dans la région. IVEKA et Eandis s’attellent volontiers à la tâche.

IVEKA, Eandis et les réseaux de chaleur
La technologie des réseaux de chaleur présente de fortes ressemblances à celle de la distribution de gaz. IVEKA et Eandis disposent des connaissances et de la main-d’œuvre nécessaires à la réalisation des études de chaleur, à l’encadrement de la conception et de l’aménagement de l’infrastructure, ainsi qu’au raccordement des sources de chaleur et des consommateurs au réseau de chaleur, et par après, à l’exploitation des installations, y compris la gestion de l’échangeur de chaleur au sein de l’habitation du client.
« Tout cela s’accorde parfaitement au rôle d’IVEKA et d’Eandis, qui visent à délester les villes et communes dans leur mission d’approvisionnement énergétique du domaine public », a déclaré Paul Gistelinck, le directeur Chaleur d’Eandis.

Un énergie intelligente et abordable
Avec ses partenaires ION et PMV, la ville de Turnhout veut développer sur d’anciens terrains industriels faisant partie du projet Slim Turnhout un nouveau quartier où le résidentiel et le professionnel se marient de façon intelligente. « Nous mettons l’accent sur la modernisation et la durabilité. Ce choix va de pair avec une technologie innovatrice assurant une énergie durable », nous raconte avec enthousiasme Kristof Vanfleteren, du promoteur immobilier ION. La signature de cet accord de collaboration reflète la confiance de la ville et des autres partenaires du projet en les gestionnaires du réseau de distribution en tant que point de contact et partenaire.

Investissements ciblés
En collaboration avec toutes les parties, Eandis a élaboré une étude préparatoire approfondie pour transformer ce projet en un business case rentable. Les zones potentielles de consommation à Turnhout ont été cartographiées. Il existe bel et bien une clientèle. Et les partenaires ne manquent pas d’ambition pour mener ce projet à bien. En croissant petit à petit, les partenaires misent sur un réseau de chaleur couronné de succès, sur un approvisionnement énergétique davantage durable et sur une efficacité énergétique accrue à Turnhout.

Une énergie durable pour plus d’un quart des familles habitant à Turnhout
Au printemps de 2016, les premiers résidents de Niefhout pourront déjà jouir de leur raccordement au réseau de chaleur. L’ambition s’étend cependant au-delà du quartier de la gare.
« En étendant, à l’avenir, le réseau de chaleur vers d’autres quartiers de Turnhout, nous pouvons réduire les émissions de CO2 sur notre territoire », explique le bourgmestre Eric Vos. « Voilà pourquoi nous voulons, à terme, proposer du chauffage durable et abordable à quelque 5 000 familles de Turnhout, c’est-à-dire plus d’un quart, grâce au réseau de chaleur », déclare le bourgmestre.

Chaudement recommandé
Les réseaux de chaleur constituent une technologie prometteuse reliant le « confort de chaleur » à un « rendement énergétique » maximal. Cette efficacité énergétique réduit à son tour les émissions de CO2.
L’efficacité énergétique des réseaux de chaleur est également un facteur primordial dans la rentabilité des projets de chaleur. Si « l’écologie » et « l’économie » vont de pair, le projet a le plus de chance de rencontrer un franc succès.
Les réseaux de chaleur sont assez flexibles pour passer à la source de chaleur la plus favorable du moment, sans requérir des adaptations du réseau sous-jacent. De plus, les réseaux de chaleur sont conçus pour les applications ménagères ainsi bien qu’industrielles. La variété de possibilités bénéficie au « rendement potentiel » des projets d’investissement.
Dans de nombreux pays européens, des réseaux de chaleur ont déjà vu le jour. La technologie n’est dès lors pas neuve. En Flandres, le climat d’investissement pour des réseaux de chaleur est également au beau fixe. Voilà pourquoi IVEKA et Eandis s’engagent volontiers à développer des réseaux de chaleur dans cette région.

www.niefhout.be


Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


lisez egalement